Who we are

The Law Society was formed on 3 October 1967. Its business is managed by the Council of the Law Society (“Council”), which originally consisted of a President, Vice President and three members. There were about 7 members of the Law Society on its inception in 1967 and at the beginning of 2007 the membership had increased to over 400 members, representing the growing number of attorneys in the Cayman Islands.

In addition to the growth of its membership, the Law Society has also seen significant developments in its function. The Law Society, under the guidance of its former President, Mr. Ramon Alberga, QC, initiated the publication of the Cayman Islands Law Reports, the first volume of which covered cases decided between 1984 and 1985.

The Law Society is a non-profit association registered as a limited company pursuant to section 80 of the Companies Law (2012 Revision).  The Law Society is a member of the International Bar Association and the Commonwealth Lawyer’s Association, as well as an honorary member of Cayman Finance.